el universo sobre mi

Las cosas van mejorando poco a poco. Things are getting better.

Slowly, people are starting to call and arrange classes. I have three new private classes, which makes me feel better. I have lots of evening plans this week and an awesome new friend to spend time with. Jill and I are going out to dinner on Saturday at a crepe restaurant with another American, Joshua. I have something to look forward to.

Also, the few classes I do have are going well. I feel like I am a lot more organized this semester, and my classes are more useful and flow together in a more logical manner. And it always makes me happy when I think of creative ways to present material, like playing the song “Anything You Can Do, I Can Do Better” to present can and can’t grammar. Then the students made up their own version…that stuff is hilarious. Also, my friend Lauren is an elementary school teacher and she wrote that teachers should come up with one good lesson plan per week. I don’t know why, but that made a lot of sense, and since then, lesson planning has been much easier for me. I basically just create one lesson and then adapt it for every class.

So I figured that in order to motivate myself and get out of the depressive slump in which I’ve found myself for the last few weeks, I needed a few goals. These are my goals for this year, or at least by June:

1. Find a new studio apartment which allows me to paint the walls and have a cat. I really need a fuzzy thing to pet every once in a while.

2. Work on writing and submitting travel writing stories to various websites in the hopes of contracting a paid position for the upcoming year (by September, I’m hoping).

3. Make new friends to spend time with once Verena and the rest of my student friends leave.

The third one will be the hardest, I think, because Verena and the other German girls really have a place in my heart, even though we’ve only known each other a short while. I spend about 90% of my time with them, and have more fun with them than anyone else. I really don’t know what I am going to do when they leave.

Regardless, the prospect of another small life-shift is exciting for me (especially the thought of having my own space to decorate and a whole wall to paint turquoise), so I am looking forward to the summer, and also possibly a trip home for a few weeks. Oh, Chicago, how I miss you!

quiero vivir
quiero gritar
quiero sentir
el universo sobre mi
quiero correr en libertad
quiero llorar de felicidad
como un naufrago en el mar
quiero encontrar mi sitio

Leave a Reply

