pan de calabacin

Yesterday I made a zucchini bread. I have only had zucchini bread maybe three times in my life, and I never liked it that much any of those times, so I’m not sure what possessed me to suddenly crave zucchini bread, but I did. It took me a few weeks to actually get around to making it, but I finally ended with an enormous loaf, beautifully browned and smelling of cinnamon. All my friends were incredulous. It has vegetables in it? No thanks! But I encouraged them to try it. The whole thing was gone last night.

However, in the process of the whole thing, I discovered that British people do not say zucchini – they say courgette. I find this exceedingly strange. Chips vs. french fries, okay. Bisquits vs. cookies, fine. But zucchini is zucchini. There’s just no other way to slice it…literally. British English is annoying.

3 thoughts on “pan de calabacin

  1. I find it interesting that you are writing in english, yet your location says Santiago de Compostela… I read some of your stuff… would you mind if I added you to my friends…?
    ps– I agree that British english can be annoying as all hell

Leave a Reply

