Fuck the Global Village

SOMETIMES, IT’S REALLY ALL TOO MUCH.

SOMETIMES, I don’t understand why EVERYTHING has to be DIFFICULT.

SOMETIMES, I don’t understand why banks won’t let you access your money in another country, even when you go to a bank that has the exact same name as your bank, and has the same logo, and for all intents and purposes, is the SAME DAMN BANK.

SOMETIMES, I don’t understand why you have to pay 30 euros to have “free access” to the Alliance Francaise Documentation Center.

SOMETIMES, I don’t understand why phone companies block their phones so that, regardless of ease, convenience, security, or environmental awareness, you cannot help but buy a new phone in every country you visit.

SOMETIMES, I don’t understand why, when trying to AVOID having to buy a new phone in every country I visit, I use a phone card, it REFUSES TO WORK. And that was after it took me an hour just to FIND a phone booth to begin with.

SOMETIMES, I don’t understand why, at the “Centro Galego de Bruxelas,” there are NO Gallegos. Or Spaniards, for that matter.

SOMETIMES, I don’t understand why you need a work permit to start working, but can’t get a work permit without already having a job.

SOMETIMES, I don’t understand why you can’t get an apartment without proof of employment, when you obviously need a house in order to FIND a job in the FIRST PLACE.

SOMETIMES, I don’t understand why having a job offer AND a house is STILL not enough to guarantee you a work permit. Apparently you also have to speak 400 languages, glow in the dark, and be able to fly. And read minds. And spontaneously set things on fire.

SOMETIMES, I don’t understand why, in this age of technology, globalization, and the fucking “global village,” everything seems to be designed to keep people from being able to go ANYWHERE and do ANYTHING productive, and I feel like I must be the ONLY person EVER to want to/have to/try to move to another country, because they sure as hell don’t make it easy, and they don’t act like they really want you to stay. Anyone who thinks immigrants, in ANY country (ahemUSAahem), have an easy time of it, or get extra benefits the rest of us upstanding citizens don’t get, YOU HAVE OBVIOUSLY NEVER TRIED TO LIVE ANYWHERE ELSE.

And what really kills me is that Brussels is fucking FULL of immigrants. You’d be hard-pressed to even find a true Bruxellois in this town. And I bet half the people living here would rather be somewhere else! You know, the diplomats, the spouses of the diplomats, the university students, the Congolose refugees… and for once, someone truly wants to be here, is willing to learn not only French but Dutch as well, will pretty much do ANYTHING in order to stay and would take pretty much ANY money offered for said job…yet I feel like I get the short end of the stick. EVERY TIME.

SOMETIMES, I JUST DON’T UNDERSTAND.

Things have not been going very well.

2 thoughts on “Fuck the Global Village

  1. I noticed in Hungary how circular many of the requirements were, housing needing a job needing a work permit needing housing. It really seemed that the only way one could arrive in a country was if they were extremely wealthy or were recruited internationally by a company based locally.
    I wondered how you did it. I suppose not very well. :\
    Good luck figuring things out. My wanderlust and I are rooting for you.

Leave a Reply

