World Music Showcase #4

I missed my World Music Showcase last week. Oops!

I was waiting until today to present this week’s World Music Showcase beacuse I was supposed to go to a concert last night, so I’d have some photos or something to post. What actually happened was that I took a metro, then a bus to the university, then I walked around for more than forty minutes in the pouring rain and cold with water sloshing into my shoes, asking dozens of people where Building Y was. Then, unsuccessful and on the verge of a cold, I got back on the bus, then the metro, and went back home. End of evening.

That’s one thing that’s terrible about living in a city full of immigrants: no one knows their way around. No one knows where they are, and no one knows where they’re going. Anyway, I had been waiting for this concert for over a month and I’m really disappointed that I didn’t get to see it, but here anyway is the band of the week, which I’m sure would have been worth a bus ride and forty minutes in the rain if I had been able to find the Kultuurkaffee:

ARANIS

I discovered Aranis by accident at FNAC. I was browsing the world music section (where else?), and they had those headphones where you can sample music. I picked up Aranis on a whim and was captivated by the first song, but it was the second song, Vala, that completely overwhelmed me. I don’t know what it is about Aranis, but their music is…intense. I would describe them as contemporary classical, a paradox which is really not a paradox at all. According to their website:

“Two violins, a double bass, accordion, piano, flute, guitar and almost no voice: it is quite clear that Aranis wants to make music you do not hear just anywhere.”

and

“The secret of Aranis lies in the compelling fact that, as a listener, you are flung to and fro between the finesse of a classical concert and the excitement of a rock concert.” It’s true.

On their website, if you click on CDs, you can watch a video and listen to pretty much all of their music. On their MySpace page, you can listen to other clips, etc.

“Vala” and “Jona” get me every time I listen to them. Music for an imaginary film…

One thought on “World Music Showcase #4

  1. Yay! I’m glad to provide some entertainment for everyone out there! Hopefully from here on out it’s going to get even better! 🙂
    Thanks for your support, Chuck! It’s been nice having you around all these years. 🙂

Leave a Reply

