Bruxelles, je t’aime

Well, this is it.

It’s sad to leave Brussels….I really like this city, despite its dirtiness and chaos and generally ridiculous curiosities. It’s even sadder to leave everyone I’ve met here. It’s amazing how many people you can get to know in just two short months.

Luckily, I was able to spend the entire week enjoying Brussels with the people I enjoy. I went to the pub with Ronan and Moritz, wandered around with Javier, had carbonnade with Fred, had drinks on the Grand Place with Michelle, ate pizza with Pierre and Sofia, and on Saturday I went to a party with Alice, where we danced the night away until the wee hours of the morning. It could have been no better last night out in Brussels than to be in a club surrounded by people from all over the world (as is the trademark of Brussels), and hear the DJ play “Ya Rayah,” “Didi,” AND “Aicha”. I would have expected no less.

I’d like to say that I’ve managed this whole time without a job etc. because of my excellent financial planning and extreme thriftiness. However, the truth is (aside from the generosity of my parents, thanks Mom and Dad) that I could never have made it these two months if it weren’t for the kindness of strangers. Alice opened her home to me even though she’d only met me once, and then only briefly. Nelsy brought me turkey breasts and took me out for hamburgers. Joost let me stay with him for an entire weekend. Mohcin slipped me 20 euros, even though I tried desperately to give it back to him. Fred never let me pay for drinks, or dinner, or speculoos ice cream (oh my god amazing). To all those people I barely know, but who have made my time here worthwhile, thank you.

In other news, I went to Ghent on Saturday, since I’d been wanting to visit and knew it was my last chance. It was cold and rainy and my visit was short, but I liked it, and here are some photos.

The next time I update, I will be in ATHENS!

One thought on “Bruxelles, je t’aime

  1. I wish I had tips about Athens for you. When I went, it was in between two great couchsurfing experiences in Thessaloniki and Skopje (backwards, I know), so being somewhere by myself was relatively lonely. I think I was relatively burnt out, and wandered upon the Acropolis and to the National Museum and that was that. The subway system is amazing.

Leave a Reply

