Selamat tinggal masa lalu… (Alternate title: 101 Things I Learned in Indonesia)

…and there’s still more to say about Indonesia. You know, I remember the first entry I posted upon arriving, where I noted all the 101 ways you can die here (and there are many!). But ironically, I feel that in Indonesia, I have learned more about how to live. I learned a lot here, and I’m sure there are 101 things that this country has taught me: Here is where I learned how to ride a motorbike. Where I learned what pineapple and watermelon really taste like. Where I learned that jellyfish stings really hurt…and that you should really take an antihistamine if you get one. Where the word “orang-utan” comes from. Where I learned how to pee in an Asian toilet. How to dance dangdut. Where I conquered my fear of flying, and that nothing tastes better than red snapper grilled on an ocean beach and eaten on the sand.

But Indonesia is also where I learned to trust the unknown, to let go. That time really will heal a broken heart. That friends can be found in the most unlikely places, and that a smile goes a long way. It’s where I learned that no matter how many places you’ve seen or people you’ve met, there is still so much in this world to surprise and fascinate you. Really. And most importantly, I learned that there is nothing –nothing– to be afraid of.

For those lessons, Indonesia, I will always be grateful.

Pictures of four months of adventures and life lessons here.

selamat tinggal masa lalu
selamat datang lembar baru
selamat tinggal cinta lalu
selamat datang cinta baru…

Leave a Reply

