World Music OVERLOAD

Oh, Brazil! Land of samba! Bossa nova! Forro! There’s so much to say…where do I begin?!

*deep breath*

I mentioned before that Brazilian music has been with me for a long time, but I had no idea just HOW much I loved it. I try to find some good, interesting, unique music anywhere I go, but here I have been so bombarded with amazing artists that I am currently visiting the CD store daily in order to feed my addiction.

So, instead of spreading them out, because it’s too exciting, here in no particular order, are many Brazilian artists I love (in YouTube format, because I don’t know a better way to share music). Just play these videos, make yourself a nice tropical drink, and let the rhythm take you away to tropical breezes…

JOÃO GILBERTO – Okay, there is a particular order. Let’s just start at the beginning, shall we? Let’s start with the classics, with the musician that made famous names like Ipanema, Corcovado, and Copacabana. If you don’t already own the album Getz/Gilberto, do yourself a favor and locate a copy immediately. You’ll thank me.

To entice you: Perhaps the most famous of all, “The Girl from Ipanema” and “Doralice.”

SEU JORGE – I don’t really know when Seu Jorge became famous in Brazil, but his fame reached international proportions when his songs were featured in the Bill Murray film “The Life Aquatic”. It’s really hard to listen to this music and not want to tap your foot at least a little. It’s okay, get up and dance!

My old favorites, “Carolina” and “Cotidiano”, and my new favorites, “Burguesinha” and “Minha do Condominio.

VICTOR & LEO – I just discovered this duo a few days when I heard “Borboletas” (butterflies…awww) on the radio, but I really like their unhindered acoustic sound and down-home kind of feel, which is very apparent in “Lado Errado” and “Tanto Solidão.”

FERNANDO E SOROCABA – I didn’t know Brazilian honky tonk existed, but look, there it is! I wouldn’t normally call myself a fan of country music, but this is Brazilian, and this song has been stuck in my head for days. Heel toe, heel toe, paga pau!

TRIBALISTAS – This group is so amazing they really deserve their own post, but frankly, I’m too impatient and I want to share this with you NOW. The group Tribalistas, led by Marisa Monte and including Carlinhos Brown (who I also love!), only released one album as a group (they became famous with “Ja Sei Namorar”), but this album is so amazing that they probably couldn’t top it. It’s been a long time since I heard such pure melodies and unique instrumentation, and the lyrics, well… Anyway, here are my favorites from their album: “Carnavalia”, “Velha Infancia”, “Passe em Casa”, and the very romantic “E Voce”.

Whew! …and I’ve only been here a month!

Leave a Reply

