Merry Christmas! Wait…what? It’s February?

Oh boy. February 2nd. Probably should get around to talking about Christmas, right?

I started this entry several times, and then scrapped them, each time, because the entry seemed too nostalgic, or too bitter, or too controversial, or just too plain boring. Isaac and I went to the States for Christmas. It’s one of my favorite times of year but it’s also a hard time. Hard to be away from family, sometimes hard to be with them. Anyway, things happened over Christmas that one day I will tell you all, but for now I decided it’s best not to. Let’s just say it involved a run-in with immigration police. Suddenly the Discovery Channel show “Border Security” hits a little too close to home (not to mention “Locked Up Abroad”).

Anyway, this blog sometimes is like a straw in a thick milkshake. You know, where things are going along smoothly and suddenly everything gets blocked up by my need to write things in chronological order, and even though I have tons of ideas and things I want to talk about, I couldn’t talk about them until I talked about Christmas. And I couldn’t talk about Christmas, and then before you know it it’s February and the last thing I talked about was Thanksgiving. There you have it, folks.

So let’s not talk about Christmas. Let’s talk about how Isaac and I are famous! Yes. I probably didn’t tell you this story when it happened because it was just so ridiculous. Just a week or two after I moved here, we were taking a lovely stroll around town, when we passed this group of college students (actually, they looked more like hippies, but you know what I mean), who were filming something. They stopped us and asked us to help them out with their video. We asked them what we’d have to do, and they said something along the lines of “Oh, you just have to climb in our dark scary van with strangers while we film it…”<shifty looks> So of course we said yes. Now, I preface this by saying that even though everybody’s mother (including mine) taught them not to get into cars with strangers (who by the way, weren’t even offering candy), it just didn’t seem like a bad idea. I mean, they were hippies.

To make a long story short, we got in their van, and they filmed it, and then (mercifully) they let us out again and told us to look up the video in a few weeks’ time. That was about a year ago. We’ve thought about it every once in a while since then, usually fondly recalling “that time we got in that random van with total strangers just because they asked us to”, but we never actually got around to looking up the video. Until about a week ago. I don’t remember what jogged our memories, but sure enough, there it was on YouTube, an ad for sailing in Galicia, with a whopping 410 views.

For your viewing pleasure, Isaac’s and my 0:02 minutes of fame (look for us between 0:42 and 0:50). Don’t blink or you’ll miss it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

