I believe in signs.

I believe that everything happens for a reason, and I don’t believe in coincidences.

I truly believe that when you are doing what you’re meant to be doing, things will just fall into place. Not that it won’t take time, or it won’t be hard, or that things won’t go wrong – they will, but then things will somehow, impossibly, go right again.

For a while now, I’ve harbored the dream of eventually owning my own coffeeshop and bakery in Spain. I don’t talk about it much on here, mostly because it’s a slow process. I’m not looking to get rich quick (or maybe ever), and I know that things worth doing take time. Owning one’s own bakery is not exactly an action-packed adventure, and the journey is marked not by large milestones, but by tiny crumbs, dropped in your path like Hansel and Gretel, to show you you’re still on the right track.

This week, I got two such crumbs. Two friends who I haven’t talked to in years both contacted me out of the blue, and both just happened to casually ask how my coffeeshop idea was coming along. Maybe it doesn’t seem like much, but I was completely surprised that they even remembered it at all. There isn’t anything very special about a desire to own a bakery – I mean, it’s not as if I’d told them my goal in life was to be President or be the next Warren Buffett or marry Brad Pitt or anything. But I guess something in the way I told them struck them and they’ve both remembered ever since. It makes me think that maybe this isn’t such a crazy idea, and it might just be possible. Maybe it’s not a pipe dream, and maybe I’m not alone – maybe people are rooting for me, and maybe destiny is, too.

Leave a Reply

